Skip to main content

2017 4-H Scholarship Recipients Announced

Congratulations to the Minnesota 4-H Foundation's 2017 scholarship recipients. These nine outstanding 4-H youth and alumni from across Minnesota stood out among over 100 individuals who submitted applications. Make a gift toward one of these scholarships today!

Kern Scholarship recipients

  • Elizabeth Bergem, West Ottertail County – Elizabeth has held many offices within her 4-H club and county. She has been a County Ambassador and is currently serving as a 2016-2017 Minnesota 4-H State Ambassador. Elizabeth will be attending the Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Fergus Falls, and plans to work as a 4-H Educator for the University of Minnesota Extension. 
  • Karrie Hume, Mille Lacs County – Karrie is a 13-year member of Mille Lacs County Busy Bees 4-H Club and was the President. She focused her 4-H experience in child development and has a passion for music. Karrie will be studying music at Bemidji State University, and plans to become a music elementary teacher. 
  • Alternate: Aiden Allen, Olmsted County &  Robin Tidd, Dakota County

David E. Pace and Valerie Halverson Pace Leadership Scholarship recipient
  • Heather Weller, East Ottertail County – Heather will be studying Public Policy and International Relations at the University of Chicago, Illinois. Her 4-H experience in citizenship, leadership, service learning and diversity appreciation has influenced her career path to serve the public interest. She has served as a Minnesota 4-H State Ambassador. She was chosen as 1 of 4 MN delegates for the 2015 National 4-H Conference Youth Leadership Team. 
  • Alternate: Sally Frandrup, Dakota County 

Ada and Helmuth Schroeder Scholarship recipients
  • Lindsey McGurran, Washington County – Lindsey will be attending the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities, and medical school to become a medical professional. She has a passion for helping others and a passion for sciences. She has focused her leadership in the community service, served as a Minnesota 4-H State Ambassador, and received the Commissioner’s Service Award Washington County
  • Alexis Hanson, Lake County – Alexis will be studying psychology at the College of St. Scholastica, Duluth. She has focused her 13-year 4-H experience on many local projects and has served as a Club President, and as a Federation President. She is currently serving as the 2016-2017 Minnesota State Ambassador.
  • Alternate: Megan Findlay, Traverse County & Maija Hecht, Clearwater County

CCI Innovation in Agriculture Scholarship recipient

  • Kourtney Pederson, Dakota County – Kourtney is a 7-year member of Dakota County 4-H, focusing on horse related leadership to cross-age teaching support. She has held a number of club and county leadership roles and is recently acting as a President of community club, Secretary for the county horse advisory board, and a 4-H Ambassador. Kourtney will be studying Agribusiness at Iowa State University.
  • Alternate: Victoria Pagel, Swift County

Searles Family Scholarship recipient
  • Aiden Allen, Olmsted County – Aiden will be studying communication at St. Cloud State University. He has been in 4-H over 10 years and has focused on three major project areas: poultry, dog and livestock. He has held leadership roles at the club and county level, including serving as 4-H Club President and 4-H Club Youth Leader. 

4-H Adult Scholarship recipients

  • Amanda Wimmer, Pine County – Amanda is currently enrolled in St. Cloud State University’s ABS Graduate Certificate program. She plans to obtain her teaching license in the special education field. She is a 9-year 4-H alum and 5-year volunteer with Pine County 4-H.
  • Carol Schimnich, Benton County – Carol plans to attend Ridgewater College in Willmar in August 2017. She has been accepted into the Massage Therapy program. After completing the Massage Therapy program, she plans to attend a Healing Touch program at CentraCare Health in St. Cloud. She wants to pursue a career in business using massage therapy or in hospice care. She is a 3-year 4-H alum and a 7-year volunteer with Benton County 4-H.

The Minnesota 4-H Foundation is committed to continuing development efforts so that additional scholarships can be available for college-bound 4-H youth and alumni. If you know of an individual or business who would be interested in sponsoring a scholarship, please contact Jane Johnson, Interim Executive Director, Minnesota 4-H Foundation, at 612-626-3717/

Wan Tansatit
Minnesota 4-H Foundation

Print Friendly and PDF


  1. Congratulations to all these outstanding 4-H'ers and alumni. Grateful to the donors who support higher education for these youth!!


Post a Comment