Skip to main content

2016 4-H Scholarship Recipients Announced

Congratulations to the Minnesota 4-H Foundation's 2016 scholarship recipients. These seven outstanding 4-H youth and alumni from across Minnesota stood out among the nearly 100 individuals who submitted applications. Make a gift toward one of these scholarships today!

Kern Scholarship recipient

  • Taylor Fankhanel, Beltrami County – Taylor is a 13-year 4-H member who focused on animal science, self-determined and performing arts. She has served in leadership roles at the club and county level and mentors in the 4-H poultry project. Taylor will be attending the University of Minnesota –Twin Cities, studying applied mathematics.
  • Alternate: Timothy Farrell, Mower County

David E. Pace and Valerie Halverson Pace Leadership Scholarship recipient

  • Aimee Schulz, Sherburne County – Aimee is studying genetics, agronomy and animal science at Iowa State University. She discovered her passion for genetics while participating in a regional 4-H Horse Quiz Bowl competition. She has focused her 4-H leadership in the horse project area, serving at both the county and state levels.
  • Alternate: Madison Muir, Kittson County

Ada and Helmuth Schroeder Scholarship recipients

  • Jakob Hicks, Lyon County – Jakob will be studying agronomy at Southwest State University. He focused his 4-H experience on photography and animal science projects and served in leadership at regional and state quiz bowl competitions as a 4-H State Ambassador.
  • Ryan Donkers, Rice County –Ryan will be studying ag business at the University of Minnesota –Twin Cities. He has focused his 13-year 4-H experience on the swine project and has served on the local project development committee, as a county 4-H ambassador, and as the 4-H federation president.
  • Alternate: Janelle Hueners, Chisago County

CCI Innovation in Agriculture Scholarship recipient

  • Juliana Pederson, Cottonwood County – Juliana is a 12-year member of Cottonwood County 4-H, focusing on dairy animals and a variety of general project areas. She has held leadership roles at the club and county level, including serving as the youth member of the County Extension Committee. Juliana will be studying microbiology at South Dakota State University.
  • Alternate: Kayla Kutzke, Kandiyohi County

Searles Family Scholarship recipient

  • Megan Vehrenkamp, Olmsted County – Megan will be studying business administration at Winona State University. She has held various leadership roles in her club, in which she has been active for the past 10 years.

4-H Adult Scholarship recipient

  • Tara Haugen, Beltrami County –Tara will be returning to Bemidji State University to complete a degree in accounting. She was an 11 year member of Beltrami County 4-H and is a new volunteer as well.

Wouldn't it be fabulous to have as many scholarships as there are counties in Minnesota? There are certainly enough well-deserving, college-bound 4-H'ers to receive them! If you know of an individual or business who would be interested in sponsoring a scholarship, please contact Frank Mumford at 612-625-2180 /

Erin Kelly-Collins
Alumni Coordinator
Minnesota 4-H Foundation

    Print Friendly and PDF